POZlife

POZLife: Life from the Infected and Effected point of veiw.

Gay Sex In The 70s

Posted by pozlife on June 26, 2006

Gay Sex in the 70s

Back in 1980 I was 19, very new to the world of queer and I was in for a happy surprise as a high school friend moved to the Big Apple, after he got a place, I was on the next plane. I got to see some of the sites in this film , so it brings back many memories of New York and my friend. Sadly he was the first friend I had to pass from AIDS. We went to some of the hot spots in this film, Boy Bar, The Saint,the most memorable was The Anvil. We had been out dancing, drinking and smoking copious amounts of ganja. As we arrived I asked Johnny why this place opened so late, I think it opened at like 12 midnight. All I got for an answer was “you’ll see”. So we paid to get in, that itself was unusual for big city bars. In return we got 2 drink tickets.

I went off to the bathroom to make room for more alcohol and notice right away that it was cruise center, one long urinal troff was along one wall. While I was letting the yellow flow I head an announcement that no women were allowed downstairs. Why, I wondered ? I saw Johnny and we began to dance and cruse the hot men. About an hour latter I went off to get another libation. I turned around and Johnny was gone. As I looked for him ,I came to some steps that lead down to the fore mention place that women were forbidden to go.

So down the stairs I went, there were many people milling about and an adult movie playing on screen. I walked about, got grabbed a few times and saw guys rounding a corner to my right as I stood at the bottom of the stairs. I walk over and in my loudest , very souther voice cried ” Oh my God ? “…lets just say everything stopped in that second. There right in front of me were men in all stages of sexual activity , front and center was Johnny getting fucked face and ass. This was the first backroom I had ever seen.

I have a picture of me outside the Saint Marks baths, but I never went in. Many of the sexual glories of Gay New York are seen in this film, the piers, trucks, central park….This is a gay piece of Gay New York historic life.

Technorati : , , , ,
Del.icio.us : , , , ,
Ice Rocket : , , , ,
Buzznet : , , , ,
43 Things : , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
